History of the Association

The idea for the Aquetong Watershed Association originated with Malcolm Crooks, a lifelong resident of Solebury who has devoted his life to the conservation of natural resources and the preservation of the natural beauty of Bucks County. In 2007, the AWA received a grant from the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania to fund its initial formation, with the support and guidance from the Bucks County Conservation District. Malcolm assembled a group of founding directors* and interested residents to incorporate the organization with a formal constitution and bylaws. In 2008, the AWA received its 501 (c) (3) status from the Internal Revenue Services as a public charity.

Malcolm served as the first president of the AWA. In 2008, Les Isbrandt was elected to serve as president. Since the AWA commenced operations in 2008, we have developed programs that include watershed walks, educational workshops, tree plantings and active advocacy for the Aquetong watershed’s protection. As of 2009, there are over 100 members of the association. In 2009, we received a Growing Greener grant from the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania to perform an assessment of the watershed to help set priorities for restoration and protection; this study will be conducted during 2010 and 2011 with substantial support from volunteers from across the community.

We will continue working to engage more citizens in watershed improvement and look forward to a time when all watershed residents feel connected to the place they liveā€“the Aquetong Watershed.

*Founding directors are Malcolm Crooks, Les Isbrandt, Gail Keim, Bryan Keyes, William MacDowell, Moira McClintock, Stephen Phillips, Jim Searing, Jane Wilson.